Gateshead Library Service Consultation 2021

A review of leisure, library and culture services is taking place to make savings of £1.2m from the Council's Public Health and Wellbeing budget. As part of this review, the Council wants to make sure that its buildings are used in the best possible way. The Council is not proposing to close any library buildings as part of this consultation, but it is looking at the potential to use some library buildings as 'community spaces' whilst retaining library functions.

The proposals will affect the following libraries: Chopwell / Crawcrook / Leam Lane / Pelaw / Wrekenton

[Please note that this survey was restarted on Monday 15th November. Unfortunately, any surveys submitted prior to that date were not recorded due to a technical system error. If you responded prior to that, we apologise for the inconvenience caused and kindly request that you complete a new survey. Your views are important to us.]


Please complete our survey by clicking on the 'Take Part' button at the bottom of this page

For further information see: Cabinet Report, Integrated Impact Assessment and Library Needs Assessment

Drop-In Sessions

You may also like to attend one of our drop-in sessions being held at libraries across Gateshead. There's no need to book, just turn up...

Date Time Library
Monday 15th November 2pm - 3.30pm Birtley
Tuesday 16th November 2pm - 3.30pm Central
Wednesday 17th November 2pm - 3.30pm Blaydon
Thursday 18th November 10am - 11.30am Pelaw
Saturday 20th November 10am - 11.30am Crawcrook
Monday 22nd November 2pm - 3.30pm Leam Lane
Thursday 25th November 10am - 11.30am Chopwell
Thursday 25th November 5pm - 6.30pm Central
Friday 26th November 10am - 11.30am Blaydon
Saturday 27th November 10am - 11.30am Pelaw
Monday 29th November 10am - 11.30am Central
Tuesday 30th November 2pm - 3.30pm Crawcrook
Wednesday 1st December 10am - 11.30am Birtley
Thursday 2nd December 2pm - 3.30pm Chopwell
Saturday 4th December 10am - 11.30am Leam Lane
Start: 15 November 2021
Ends: 04 February 2022
Contact: Helen Eddon
t: 0191 433 8407
e: libraryconsultation2021@ gateshead.gov.uk
Activities